Navigation makes life easier

Posted: January 24, 2016 in Writing

This blog post is inspired by the blogging marathon hosted on IndiBlogger for the launch of the #Fantastico Zica from Tata Motors. You can apply for a test drive of the hatchback Zica today.

Have you ever imagined, travelling to a new place altogether without having any local knowledge? Its scary right? What if you are stuck in the middle of the desert and don’t know where to go? What if the local driver takes advantage of your ignorance? Well! It scares the shit out of me. Apparently, smart phones have been an advantage to deal with the situations like this.In the recent past, there has been a major usage of the navigation or Google maps in the smart phones. It is a boon to the frequent travelers.

The other day, I was travelling with one of  my friends to some hospital which is 25 kms from where I live. And living in Bangalore for quite some time now, I am still not accustomed to the places. So this friend of mine has twins and her husband was not in town, so she asked me to come to the doctor for one of her kid.  She booked a cab, and we didn’t know the route, so I opened the navigation to direct the driver. This driver had local knowledge and so we were little relaxed too.

Now one thing which was weird was that this driver was continuously on call talking in Kannada and staring at us from the rear view. I felt uncomfortable. I told my friend in sign language  , who, till now was very casual and said that that’s OK. But then she also noticed that his eyes were on us. It scared the shit out of me. And on top of this, he changed the route and took us to some very narrow lane and the area looked cheap. My heart starting beating faster and I collected some courage and asked him, “where are you taking us, this is not the route”. He said “its shortcut madam”.

Now, I called up my husband and told him in my language about this. He said,”don’t worry, don’t show him that you are scared, just keep the navigation open, and share it with me, I’ll track you guys.” Meanwhile my friend too, kept her brother’s number ready in case of emergency. I told my friend aloud, for the driver also to listen, that don’t worry my husband is tracking us. And my finger was on the SOS button. Just in case.

After sometime, we saw the main road. We took a sigh of relief. Then he dropped us to the destination. Now, not that this driver was that kind of guy, or he was purposely taking us to a different route, but better be safe than sorry, and his wired looks made us uncomfortable. While we got down, my friend gave him a nice scolding,” Bhaiya driving karte samay, phone pe baat nahi karni chahiye, Itte Irresponsible kaise ho sakte ho aap” (Don’t you know, one should not talk on phone while driving? How can you be so irresponsible?). He was smiling and left the place.

But fortunately, we reached safe and thanks to the Google maps and the features of sharing the map with your family and an SOS button at the time of emergency. It keeps us always alert while driving to an unknown place.

Leave a Reply

