My love for fiction

When it comes to books, I m quite choosy, I look for a catchy title, and a great storyline, thriller combined with love story, with some twists here and there and a happy ending indeed. Basically I love fictions. Well! To tell you the truth, I was a completely different person some years back, and I used to hate books so much so that I had a personal hatred towards other geeky friends of mine. Dont know where this came from, but that was the truth. I used to hate when my friends used to talk about books and authors and used those highly professional vocabulary which a normal person like me could never understand. I used to feel, they are showing off and so I started ignoring these kinds of friends. But the problem was in me and not them. I still don’t know the reason, why I was so indifferent, but later I changed and for good.

I still remember, my very first book was of Sydney Sheldon, “If tomorrow comes” and that’s when I became a Sydney Sheldon book reader. And this very book too, I happen to start reading accidently, and I realized, books aren’t so bad and they aren’t our enemies either. Rather they are our best friends and a best way to pass time. Not that I am a complete bibliophile. But I do love reading whenever I get time.

It was a long train journey from Bangalore to my home town Jabalpur. Almost 2 days trip and I had my Mp3 player loaded with all the songs, latest, old, English, Rock, rap etc. I bought 3 magazines and I thought it would last for the 2 day trip and without getting too bored I’ll reach Jabalpur. But I was wrong, I finished the  whole magazine in 2 hours and listening to songs continuously brought headache which was unbearable and only after having 2 cups of coffee, it subsided. Now I was left with no option at all. Talking to fellow passengers was a strict no, as instructed by one and all. But still I did struck a conversation, a brief one though. Just then, I saw one guy selling some books, and this book caught my eye, I thought I will give it a try, as I had to pass time anyhow. Looking at the title, I was curious what this is all about. And as I started reading it kept me engaged throughout the journey. The thrills, the romance, the twists, it kind of keeps the chord connected. And my journey ended smoothly. In fact it lasted till my return journey back to Bangalore. I was a bit slow reader back then…

Since then, I have read quite a lot of book and mind you all fiction. This is how my love for fiction started. And now when my friends talk about books and authors, it doesn’t seem Greek and Latin to me, like it was back then. And now I have a long way to go, lot of books to read and let everyone know that books are indeed your best friend.

Leave a comment